Academy Exchange

View Only
  • 1.  What are you seeing from the online PrEP programs like Nurx or Mistr?

Posted 02-23-2021 15:43
    ​I'm curious if others have much experience bridging care for PrEP patients who have used Nurx, Mistr or other competitors to get PrEP online with home testing.  We have our own PrEP program (not with home testing) but sometimes our new patients come to us only after a clunky attempted start with those online services. Our pharmacy team has been a little puzzled as they often can't verify the online PrEP prescribers from these businesses.   

Josh Rohr PA-C

------------------------------
    Joshua Rohr
    Seattle WA

• 2.  RE: What are you seeing from the online PrEP programs like Nurx or Mistr?

Posted 02-24-2021 15:13
    I've had some experiences with Mistr.  Would not recommend for a couple reasons.
    1. They don't treat the STI's they diagnos.
    2. The testing is expensive, and not always the best because patients do what is "cheapest"
    3. The telemedicine portion hasn't always been with a provider.  I've had patients complain that it's all text email, no provider face to face/telephone.
    4. They ship from out of state pharmacies, and at least 1 of the pharmacies they shipped from to Nevada, I can't find them as being licensed in Nevada, which is a Nevada board of pharmacy requirement.
    5. I've called the corporate office about these concerns, and they don't really care.  It's all about money.

I think the concept is great, but the program thru Mistr isn't addressing the issue, risk!

John Phoenix
    Las Vegas NV

• 3.  RE: What are you seeing from the online PrEP programs like Nurx or Mistr?

Posted 02-24-2021 16:17
    Thank you very much John for sharing the information, concerning Mistr.

Henry Bryant
    Pembroke Pines FL

• 4.  RE: What are you seeing from the online PrEP programs like Nurx or Mistr?

Posted 02-25-2021 15:36